Cleaning Schedules

I don’t know about ya’ll, but I function better when things are planned out and on a schedule. Cleaning is no exception to this. Years ago I started following a cleaning schedule and quickly noticed how on top of the housework I felt. I never felt like I was behind in the laundry, and I never had nasty bathrooms. However, the most CRUCIAL part of using a cleaning schedule is FOLLOWING it. EVERYDAY! You are probably thinking. “Well, DUH!!” We are all human though and not perfect. We make excuses! Let life get in the way. This year, I am committing to organization in all aspects of my life to include my Cleaning regiment. So, full disclosure, the schedule I am about to talk about is one that I am currently trying to get back on myself. Let’s do this together…

Monday Laundry Day

On this cleaning schedule, you do one load of laundry a day. However, Monday is the day you catch up on anything that is left over. This is also the day you wash and change your sheets. I recommend having two sets of sheets per bed so you can immediately put new sheets on instead of having to wait for them to wash first.

Monday is also the day you clean out your fridge. Throw away what needs to be thrown out and you can see what you have for the week.

Tuesday – Floors

Today you focus on your floors. They all (with the exception of the bathrooms) get a thorough sweeping/vacuuming and mopping. Now through out the week everyday you will sweep the high traffic areas and of course spot mop when necessary. But today is the day you will focus on floors.

Tuesday is also the day you spend 30 min and check you house for smudges, handprints, etc… If you have kids you know how quickly those can build up. So when doing this you scan the surfaces of you house and quickly wipe down as needed.

Wednesday – Errand Day

Today you will get all your errands done. Try to plan your errands for this day so you aren’t having to run out every day. Since you will be out, this is also the day you will clean out your car. Take it through the car wash and vacuum out if needed.

The other chore for today is giving your entryway a quick look and making sure it is all nice and neat.

Thursday – Bathrooms

Today you will focus SOLELY on your bathrooms. Clean the mirrors, the sinks, shower, tub, and toilet! Finish up by giving the bathroom floors a good sweeping and mopping. Then pat yourself on the back, because, let’s face it, that is ALOT of work.

Friday – Dusting and Kitchen Wipe Down

On this day you will get all your dusting done. You can use a rag and pledge or a swiffer just depending on how dusty the surfaces are. Also give your appliances a good wipe down and check the inside of the microwave.

Today you will also make a grocery list. Our walmart as a grocery pick up option so I do a pick up every weekend. I usually schedule it for Saturday or Sunday, depending on our needs.

Saturday – Family Day/Project Day

The weekend has arrived! This is a good day to work on any projects that need to be done. Or you can spend the day doing something fun with your family. It is up to you how you spend your weekend.

Sunday – Day of Rest/ Planning

Sunday is a day of rest. We all need a day to just let down. Since you will be sitting alot, it is a good day to get that planner out and look at the week ahead. Plan out your days and what needs to be accomplished. You will start your next week with lower stress levels knowing what needs to be done and when.

EVERYDAY

Above I talked about your focuses for each day. Now there are things that I DO recommend doing every day. Don’t worry it isn’t much and by doing these things everyday it really lessens the time you have to spend on cleaning each day.

  • One Load of Laundry
  • Wipe Down Bathrooms (Sinks and toilets)
  • Sweep High Traffic areas
  • Dishes
  • Wipe down kitchen Counters
  • Check your schedule

This may seem like a lot at first, but I can assure you it really isn’t that much. As I said previously, I am planning to get back on this cleaning schedule myself. I know for a fact it works and keeps your house looking nice and clean. So let’s do this together and get this area of our lives organized.

Leave a comment